Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium

Visakhapatnam ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, also known as the ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, is a multi-purpose stadium in Visakhapatnam, India with a lush green outfield. It is primarily used for Cricket.

The stadium has two-tiers and was designed to avoid any restricted view seats, eliminating pillars or columns which come in the field of view of spectators in some of the Indian stadiums. The pitch is known as a batsman friendly one.

Ground profile

The ACA-VDCA stadium is known for its lush green outfield and is one of the most well maintained stadium .The grass for the outfield was specially imported from the Caribbean. In addition to this, the stadium has a very good water drainage facility. The stadium currently seats a 26,736 capacity crowd and is primarily used for cricket matches. The stadium has floodlight facilities to host a D/N cricket matches. The stadium has hosted 1 Test match, 6 ODI matches and 1 T20I till date.


The stadium hosted its first ODI match against Pakistan, in which Mahendra Singh Dhoni scored his maiden one day international century (148) in 2005. After being given Test status, it hosted its first test match in November 2016, between India and England. India won the match by 246 runs. The Stadium hosted its first T20I in February 2016 between India and Sri Lanka, in Which Ravichandran Ashwin took 4 wickets for 8 runs in his 4 over spell bundling out Sri Lanka for 83.

The stadium also hosted IPL matches and was the home ground of Deccan Chargers in 2012 and Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2015.

Notable Events

Due to water scarcity in Maharashtra during the IPL 2016 season, Mumbai Indians and Rising Pune Supergiants played 3 games each at this stadium. Visakhapatnam served as a home venue for both the teams.
Rising Pune Supergiants skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni scored 23 runs off final over against Axar Patel to secure one of the highest chases in T20s at this stadium.
In 2016, Visakhapatnam hosted all 3 international formats in the same year in which India won the T20I, ODI and Test against Sri Lanka, New Zealand and England respectively.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.